110th Annual Meeting

Hon. Armand Fernandes, Jr.

Hon. Armand Fernandes, Jr.

The Honorable Armand Fernandes, Jr. was elected 26th Chair of the Board of Trustees of the Old Dartmouth Historical Society – New Bedford Whaling Museum at the 110th Annual Meeting of the Society on May 24, 2013, held at the museum. Incoming trustees to the 31-member board for the term 2013-2016 include James G. DeMello, Llewellyn Howland III, Joaquim Livramento, Hon. Phillip Rapoza, Maryellen Shachoy, and Gurdon B. Wattles.

The Honorable Armand Fernandes, Jr., a New Bedford native, is a retired Associate Justice of the Massachusetts Trial Court. His paternal grandparents emigrated from the Vila Real province in northern Portu­gal. His mother, age 97, is a native of Madeira. A New Bedford High School Gridiron Hall of Famer, Armand attended Lehigh Uni­versity where he met his wife, Patricia. After Lehigh, he attended Suffolk University Law School where he received his law degree. They have four children – all Lehigh alumni, and eight grandchildren.

Prior to his appointment to the bench, Judge Fernandes maintained a suc­cessful private law practice engaging in many jury and non-jury trials in the Federal and State Courts.

Spanning many years, his civil and criminal practice dealt with several high profile cases, some of which drew national attention. During this time he also served as Assistant District Attorney for the Southern District, Assistant City Solicitor, City Solicitor for the City of New Bedford, and legal advisor to the New Bedford Police Department. He has served on several Massachusetts Bar Association committees and lectured at continuing legal education programs.

Armand was introduced years ago to the Whaling Museum by friend and trustee, the Hon. D. Lloyd Macdonald and has served as its Clerk. His motivation in serving as Chair continues a longstanding commitment to public service. “Our region played a critical role in the growth of America – from whaling, to the Underground Rail­road, to the textile era and the fishing industry. Not enough of its contributions are taught in schools and our job, in part, reveals these connections, which can help people grasp the potentiality of the future,” he said.

A resident of Dartmouth, James G. DeMello is a graduate of Northeastern University and the Wharton School of Business at Pennsylvania State University. He is the for­mer CEO of Acushnet Company and the former owner and President/CEO of Acushnet Rubber Company. Active in the community, he is an advisory board mem­ber of Saint Luke’s Hospital, Polyneer, Inc., the University of Massachusetts, and Portuguese United for Education, Inc.

Llewellyn “Louie” Howland III returns to the board for his fourth term. Long-time chair of the Scholarship and Publications Committee and member of the Collections Committee, he has overseen many museum publications. A resident of Jamaica Plain, he is proprietor of Howland and Company, an antiquar­ian bookseller and he has written and lectured extensively on maritime history and art.

Joaquim “Jack” Livramento, a New Bedford native, received his master’s degree from Southeastern Massachusetts University and worked as a chemist at Woods Hole Oceanographic Institute and Springborn Laboratories. He was elected to the New Bedford School Committee in 2011.

The Honorable Phillip Rapoza is the Chief Justice of the Massachu­setts Appeals Court. He was appointed to that position in 2006 after 15 years of judicial service on the District Court, Superior Court, and Appeals Court. Chief Justice Rapoza is active in various international justice endeavors. In 2002, the President of Portu­gal bestowed on him the rank of Commander in the Order of Prince Henry the Navigator for “promoting closer relations between the judicial systems of our two countries.” He has led international justice efforts and served on UN-backed war crimes tribunals. He currently serves as President of the International Penal and Penitentiary Foundation, headquartered in Switzerland. A Dartmouth native, he graduated magna cum laude from Yale College and received his law degree from Cornell Law School.

A resident of Marion, Maryellen Sullivan Shachoy gradu­ated from Marymount College and attended Westfield College University of London, the London School of Economics, and Harvard University. Maryellen managed volunteers and coordinated special events at Massachu­setts General Hospital and WGBH. She also served as Finance Director for the Massachusetts Democratic Party and the Dukakis for President Campaign. She has served on the Board of Direc­tors for the League of Women Voters and American Cancer Society and volun­teers for the United Way, WGBH/Channel 2, and St. Rita’s Church in Marion. Mrs. Shachoy is also a member of the Beverly Yacht Club, New York Yacht Club and The Bay Club.

Returning to the board after two terms as Second Vice-Chair, Gurdon B. Wattles is an ardent champion of the museum. During his career, Gurdon served as President of the former American Manufacturing Company and Safety Railway Service Corporation and was a director of the former Eltra Corporation. He has frequently acted as a catalyst to bring important Museum projects and initia­tives to bear, specifically the Wattles Gallery, the Apprenticeship Program, and the Education Center and Research Library. Gurdon serves on the boards of the Newark Museum (NJ), Audubon Society of RI, and the Sea Research Foundation including Mystic Aquarium, the Ocean Exploration Center and Jason Learning under Dr. Robert Ballard.

Outgoing chair, John N. Garfield, Jr., noted, “The stars have been in alignment these past four years. Our museum has grown in stature, and prospered. Our depth of collections, scholarship, exhibitions, education and outreach has grown. Congratulations are due to our entire museum community for these remarkable years.”

In his inaugural remarks as chair, Judge Fernandes said, “We will continue to be the best of what we’ve been, and to cultivate our role as the region’s cultural nexus. I look forward also to the Mu­seum seizing the Digital Age; this will extend our presence worldwide just as our whaleships once did. Education is the great equalizer; it’s my hope we will expand our Apprenticeship Program and see our ap­prentices through to higher achievements. And, finally, reuniting the Research Library and a state-of-the-art Education Center with the museum’s main campus is a big goal, but it’s now within our reach.”

Officers for the 2013–2014 term: Hon. Armand Fernandes, Jr., Chair; George B. Mock III, First Vice Chair; Lucile P. Hicks, Second Vice Chair; Joseph E. McDonough, Treasurer; Donald S. Rice, Assistant Treasurer; Carol Taylor, Clerk.

Board of Trustees: Dr. Patricia L. Andrade, Charles Bascom, Nathaniel Bickford, Mary Jean Blasdale, William do Carmo, James G. DeMello, Roy Enoksen, Michelle N. Hantman, Edward M. Howland II, Llewellyn Howland III, Lawrence S. Huntington, Patricia Jayson, Keith Kauppila, David N. Kelley II, Elizabeth Kellogg, Jaoquim Livramento, Hon. D. Lloyd Macdonald, Eugene Monteiro, Barbara Moss, Hon. Phillip Rapoza, Jeffrey L. Raymon, Maryellen Shachoy, Hardwick Simmons, Gurdon B. Wattles and Harvey J. Wolkoff.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s