The music matched the weather: superb.

The fourth and final concert in the 2010 summer series of free outdoor concerts on the Plaza with members of the New Bedford Symphony Orchestra concluded this afternoon when an audience of more than 250 gave the musicians a standing ovation.

The program, titled “Winds of Change: Four Centuries of Music for the Wind Band,” featured the NBSO’s Wind & Brass Players. Among the works performed: Mozart’s Serenade No. 11 for Winds in E-flat major K. 375, and Beethoven’s Wind Octet in E-flat major, Opus 103. During the concert, members of the ensemble explained their respective  instruments and noted particular aspects of the piece or movement they were about to play.  Sponsored in part by the Massachusetts Cultural Council, these concerts have showcased a wide range of popular and classical music.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s